Automattic’s Worldwide WP 5k/Cookie Chaser 5k

Today’s post is a follow up to a post I made back on April 10th, when I blogged about Automattic‘s Worldwide WP 5k (or rather re-blogged a post originally posted by Sara Rosso of Automattic/Word Press. Basically that everyone was invited to run a 5k during the week of April 23-29 and then blog about it. (WWWP5k)

Well as my contribution I picked a local 5k – the Cookie Chaser 5k which is run in Riverton, Utah – a suburb of Salt Lake City.   http://www.cookiechaser.com/ This race is a fundraiser to benefit the Girl Scouts. They also hold a 2k run/walk race that starts about 30 minutes earlier. A friend of mine from my running club (Salt Lake City Track Club- http://www.slctrackclub.org/index.html ) ran the 2k as a warmup for the main event. Others did as well.  As I didn’t make a final decision on this race until last minute, I was stuck paying the extra $5 for day of race registration. ($25) I arrived early enough (~8:00 am) to get registered and to get a short warmup in on the course. (1.54 miles in 14:17 – 9:15 pace)  I hadn’t run this race before, but had talked to some people that had. The course is relatively flat outside of just before the turnaround where lies a “dip” if you believe the road signs. Smallish hill, but enough to slow you a little bit. (down then up then the turnaround and back) I started near the friend of mine who ran the 2k first.

My splits:

Mile 1: 7:53
Mile 2: 8:02
Mile 3: 8:16
Finish: 24:19/24:20 by my watch.

This was good enough for 2nd place in my age group, just under 3:00 behind the 1st place runner who is also in my running club and ran 21:20.  I don’t know what kind of mileage he runs, but I know he rarely races longer than 10k any more. I on the other hand normally run at least one marathon a year.  So we have different strengths.

My placings fell out like this: 2nd in my age group, 17th Male and 21st Overall.  There were around 200 or so in the overall.  I had to leave before the awards ceremony was held so any age group prize I won I don’t have yet. I have an email into the Race Director on that issue. Overall I feel pretty good about this race, even though I didn’t run as fast as I was hoping for. Gives me a very general idea of what I might be able to do in my next 5k on May 19th. (Law Day Run 5k – held on the University of Utah campus beginning at the SJ Quinney College of Law). There have been two or three courses for that race over the years, my best on the current course is a 25:22 at last years race.  I am hoping to be able to run at least close to what I ran today.

About Brad Merrill

Brad W. Merrill is the Principal at Brad W. Merrill Accounting and Tax Services. He specializes in Sales & Use taxes and accounting for small businesses. He has a B.S. in Accounting from the David Eccles School of Business at the University of Utah.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Automattic’s Worldwide WP 5k/Cookie Chaser 5k

  1. Pingback: Croton Aqueduct: Power Walking For Worldwide WP 5k… | Mirth and Motivation

  2. eof737 says:

    Congratulations on your run! You did a great job and placed very well. :-)

Leave a Reply

